Annual Meeting
Member Directory
Members Only


Donald B. Doty Award

Through a generous grant from Medtronic, the WTSA has established the Donald B. Doty Educational Award, with the 2005 award of 10,000 USD being accorded to a group at the University of Utah, Salt Lake City. Active and senior members in good standing of the WTSA are eligible. The purpose of the award is twofold:

  1. to foster innovative educational initiatives in cardiothoracic surgery by WTSA members; and
  2. to provide an opportunity for the dissemination of this information to other training centers and academic institutions.
Award Details & Application
View Recipients

WTSA Traveling Fellowship for Residents, Trainees, and Practicing Surgeons

The goal of this traveling fellowship is to promote interaction and learning between residents / trainees / practicing surgeons and WTSA members. The traveling fellow will visit a University-affiliated or academic practice of his/her choosing, within the boundaries of the WTSA (Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington, Wyoming along with Canadian provinces of Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, and Saskatchewan), for a period of one to two weeks, under the sponsorship of a Western member at the hosting institution. The traveling fellow does not need to be a WTSA member; the award is open to any resident / trainee / practicing surgeon.
Award Details & Application
View Recipients

David J. Dugan Distinguished Service Award

The David J. Dugan Distinguished Service Award of the Western Thoracic Surgical association is presented to members of the association in recognition of distinguished achievement and outstanding contributions to the field of thoracic surgery in the areas of science or leadership over a sustained period of time. Nominations for this award are made by the Nominating Committee and are then presented to the Council for approval.
View Recipients

Paul C. Samson Resident Prize

The Paul C. Samson Resident Prize is awarded to a resident who is the presenting author of a podium presentation at the annual Meeting. The selection of the winner is determined not only by the resident's presentation, but also by the manuscript itself.
View Recipients

Norman E. Shumway Award

The Norman E. Shumway Award is given to the presenting author of that podium presentation judged best at the annual Meeting, the primary affiliation of which is an institution within the geographic boundaries of the Western.
View Recipients


  Home | About WTSA | Contact Us  
Copyright © 2018 The Western Thoracic Surgical Association. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy